Umeh, Obi Loyalists Deny Principal Offices In Anambra House Of Assembly Executive Slots

The Anambra State House of Assembly which was recently inaugurated has formally elected other key  officers to steer the affairs of the 6th Assembly, thereby sidelining Hon. Nikky Ugochukwu, a third term member and Uzoezie again.
The APGA dominated red chamber, it would be recalled, last week, picked Hon. Rita Maduagwu of Nnewi South 2 state Constituency to be her Speaker, while Hon. Harford Oseke of Awka 2 became her Deputy Speaker.
On its second sitting  Thursday, the Assembly further chose Hon. Jideofor Okoye of Anambra West and Hon. Lawrence Ezeudu of Dunukofia State Constituencies as Majority and Deputy Majority Leaders respectively.
Other principal officers of ANSHA elected were younger brother of Sir Emeka Offor, Hon. Onyebuchi Offor, PDP, Ekwusigo constituency, as Minority Leader; Hon. Beverly Ikpeazu, Chief Whip; while Hon. Chugbo Enwezor emerged as Chairman of the 6th Assembly Agenda.
Surprisingly the two new PDP members from Anaocha 1 and 2 were equally assigned portfolios. gathered that though, Honourable  Nikky Ugochukwu who represents Orumba South and  Honourable. Ikem Uzoezie of Aguata 1 constituencies, both APGA members who were seen as prefered Speakership candidate and command greater influence in the hallow chamber, but surprised to see that both were conspicuously denied the offer to command any leadership positions in the house.
Hon. Ugochukwu, a third term member is allegedly close to the state former governor, Chief Peter Obi whose relationship with the incumbent government has been strained, even as Hon. Uzoezie’s mother, Dr. Ego Uzoezie, the former Commissioner for Women Affairs and Social Development and a relation to the erstwhile  National Chairman  of APGA, Chief Sir Victor Umeh.

 Political analysts say that this might be to avoid impeachment of Gov. Obiano by either Obi's loyalists or that of Chief Victor Umeh, on the hope that both leaders have issues with the state government..
Meanwhile,the Speaker, Rt. Hon. Rita Maduagwu, while thanking members for maturity played at electing officials, however, implore them to submit their CV's with a view to ensuring that all would be accommodated at next sitting when they would inaugurate committee members.
However, as no member is complaining of the recent development, analysts observed that Rt. Hon. Maduagwu and third female lawmaker to occupy that exalted position in the hallow chamber after Hon. Eucharia Anazodo, now a member representing Aguata Federal Constituency at Federal House of Representative; and Rt. Hon. Chinwe Nwaebili of Ogbaru 2 constituency and newly appointed Anambra State Commissioner for Environment, still maintain cordial relationship with her colleagues.
Recalled that Speaker Maduagwu was nominated unopposed by Hon. Ikem Uzoezie, member representing Aguata 1 state constituency and seconded by Hon. Chugbo Enwezor of Onitsha North 1 Constituency; Hon. Oseke, who was the immediate past Majority Leader of the Assembly was equally nominated unopposed by Hon. Victor Jideofor Okoye of Anambra West state Constituency and seconded by Hon. Chris Emenaka, Anambra West State Constituency.
In her acceptance speech, the Speaker promised to ensure that the 6th Assembly which constitutes of 30 members of 18 new legislators and 12 re-elected members were partners in progress with both the executive and judiciary.



Related Post