President Buhari Names Prof. Mahmood Yakubu As New INEC chairman & Five Federal Commissioners

In the bid to ensure transparency and probity is ensured in the fort coming Kogi and Bayelsa governorship election, and other general elections in Nigeria, President Muhammadu Buhari has heed to people's cry to appoint a new Independence National Electoral Commission (INEC) Chairman, that will command the trust of the citizenry.
This however was the clarion call by Nigerians, majorly the opposition party, PDP had many fora alleged that the acting chairman of INEC Amina Bala Zakari , has no constitutional standing to conduct a free fair and acceptable election, having served the constitutional provision of five years, along with the former chairman, Professor Attahiru Jega and four others.  
President Muhammadu Buhari has however named Prof. Mahmood Yakubu as the National Chairman of the Independent National Electoral Commission.
The appointment was consequently approved at the first meeting of the Council of State presided over by Buhari.Five new national commissioners were also named for the commission.
The national commissioners are Mrs. Amina Zakari (North-West); Dr. Anthonia Okoosi-Simbine (North Central); Alhaji Baba Shettima Arfo (North-East); Dr. Mohammed Mustafa Lecky (South-South) and Mr. Soyebi Adedeji Solomon (South-West).
The South-East is said to still have a sitting national commissioner.
Governor Aminu Tambuwal of Sokoto State briefed State House correspondents at the end of the meeting.


Related Post