NYCN elects new state, LG officers in Anambra

The National Youth Council of Nigeria (NYCN), Anambra State council on Tuesday elected 17 officers that would pilot the affairs of the council in the state for the next four years.
The Electoral Commission Chaired by Comrade Eze Golden Chukwuebuka Iloh and Hon. Egwuatu Ejiofor as Secretary declared Nonso Smart Okafor as the duly elected chairman having scored 83 votes against Chidiebele Obika who got 33 votes. One of the chairmanship contestants, Obi Tagbo, for personal reasons stepped down from the race.
The election was conducted at the state secretariat of the council in Awka. The Electoral Commission adopted Option A4 to ensure transparency and fairness. The other members of the state executives, it was gathered, were returned unopposed.
This was coming one week after similar election was held in the 21 Local Government Areas of the state which produced coordinators and their executive members.
The state officers are: Chukwuemeka Omatah, Deputy Chairman; Izuchukwu Emesiana, Vice-Chairman (North); Chisom Alike, Vice Chairman (Central); Chinwendu Nwankwo, Vice Chairman (South); Arinze Omenwa, Secretary;Stanley Nonso Anene, Assistant Secretary; Obinna Odogwu, Public Relations Officer; Ifeyinwa J. Okolie, Assistant P.R.O., and Nath Chika Nwankwo-Arinze, Financial Secretary.
Others are: Chidiebere J. Maduafor, Treasurer; Ifeoma V. Ndive, Organizing Secretary (North); Venatius C. Okeke, Organizing Secretary (South); Helen C. Aniebue, Organizing Secretary (Central); Adaobi S. Okafor, Social Secretary; Uzolisa C.Okeke, Auditor, and Azuka V. Emeodi, Legal Adviser.
All the contestants in the election and stakeholders who monitored the exercise told newsmen that they were satisfied with the conduct, adjudging it as free, fair and transparent. They also pledged to support the incoming executives to live up to their campaign promises.
The Electoral chairman, Iloh, while declaring the results, thanked all the contestants for being peaceful and matured during the election. He charged the newly elected officers to work together into to deliver on their electoral mandates.
The Chairman-Elect, Nonso Okafor, on behalf of the new state and local government officers thanked the youths of the state for giving them the rare opportunity to serve. He also thanked the outgoing executives led by Comrade Frank Maduka for their contributions to the growth of NYCN in the state even as he pledged to improve on their legacies.


Related Post