Controversy Trails PDP Congress As Ken Emeakayi Returned As Chairman Anambra State

Confusion pervades the return of Crown Prince Ken Emeakayi unopposed in the State Congress of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) held at Emmaus House, Awka, Saturday as the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) Anambra state Chairman against the stand of stakeholders.
The victory of the immediate past Chairman of the Anambra State PDP, Emeakayi with a total of 958 votes, was greeted with uneasiness following the non-attendance to the State Congress by majority of the statutory delegates. Announcing the result at the State Congress of the party, held at the Emmaus House field, Awka, the State capital, the Returning Officer, Mr. Ike Abonyi stated that, the Emeakayi was returned unopposed as he was the sole candidate for the post, but he has to go through a voting process as provided in the party’s constitution..

It was gathered that delegate voted for one Okoli for the post of the State Chairman, but was nullified by the Congress Committee due to the fact that he did not formally seek for the office.
Accreditation of 968 delegates from the 21 local government areas started by 1.30pm while voting for the 26 positions was concluded at 6.54 pm.
The Returning Officer who announced Emeakayi winner as 7 .05 said 9 votes were voided.
Apart from Emeakayi, other contestants who won their seats are: Mr. Nzube James Etoniru – Secretary(Idemili South), Mr. Emeka Nzekwe – Publicity Secretary (Anambra East), Prince Eddy Okosi (Youth Leader (Onitsha North), Wilson Anakwe - Treasurer ((Awka South), Sir-Ben Nwosu - Organizing Secretary (Nnewi North), Afam Akonnaya – Legal Adviser (Njikoka).

As at the time of going to the press, there is still anxiety as to who would emerge winner for the post of the Financial Secretary contested by Mr. Ekedozie and Egwuoyibo Okoye zoned to Nnewi South LGA as well as the post of Women Leader vied by Mrs Grace Okeke and Ego Afuegbu, both from Dunukofia LGA.

The State Congress monitored by Godfrey Nsofor from INEC's Elections and Party Monitoring unit was organized to elect State Executives for the party after the national leadership sacked all the factions contending for leadership in the Stare, including the Emeakayi and Ejike Oguenego factions.

According to sources, the choice of Emeakayi is needed to provide a strong opposition to the quest of the ruling All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA) to return governor Willie Obiano to power in 2018.
 In the stead, the National Working Committee of the PDP set up a Caretaker Committee to run the affairs of the party preparatory to the 2015 general elections.
It is being feared that non-participation of the majority of the delegates, will likely return to party to the trenches, fueling speculation of a return to the era of factionalization.
According to the guidelines, the delegates to the State Congress includes the three-man ad-hoc delegates from the ward as well as statutory delegates made up of the former Vice President, Dr. Alex Ekwueme; Senator Onyeabo Obi,member PDP Board of Trustees; Olisa Metuh, National Publicity Secretary; Iyom Josephine Anenih, member of BOT; serving Senators, Andy Uba, Uche Ekwunife and Stella Oduah.
Also among the delegates were House of Representatives members of PDP, namely, Chukwuka Onyema, Linda Ikpeazu, Obinna Chidoka, Anayo Nnebe, Eucharia Azodo, Sopuluchukwu Onwuka, and Emeka Anohu as well as three PDP members of the State House of Assembly.


Related Post