Senatorial seats: APC wins Jonathan’s district, 64 others

Image result for Senatorial seats: APC wins Jonathan’s district, 64 others
The All Progressives Congress has so far won 65 seats in the ninth Senate with its latest victory in the Bayelsa East Senatorial District.
Otuoke, the  hometown of former President Goodluck Jonathan, who is a Peoples Democratic Party chieftain, is in the Bayelsa East Senatorial District.
INEC has so far declared  results of 101 senatorial elections that were conducted across the country on Saturday.

The Senate has 109 members and for a party to have the two-thirds majority in the upper chamber of the National Assembly, it must produce 73 senators.
The opposition Peoples Democratic Party has won 35 seats in the Senate, while the Young Progressive Party clinched a seat in Anambra State.
In Bayelsa State, besides winning a senatorial seat, the APC, in the results announced by INEC, clinched  two House of Representatives  seats in the Southern Ijaw and Nembe/Brass.
Nembe and Brass constituencies are also part of Goodluck Jonathan’s senatorial district.
This is the first time the APC is winning the National Assembly elections in the state since 1999.
A breakdown of the results shows that the PDP won three of the House of Representatives seat while the APC clinched two.
The senatorial seat for the Bayelsa East Senatorial District was won by the Degi Wagara, of the APC with 43, 303 to beat the PDP candidate, Ipiganai Izagara who pulled 32, 363 votes.
The PDP won in the other two senatorial seats in Bayelsa West and the  central district.   A former Works Commissioner, Ewhrudjakpo Lawrence, who  polled 49,912, won the seat in the west district,  while Diri Douye, won in the central district with 83, 978 votes.
Also on Thursday, INEC declared the incumbent senator representing Taraba Central Senatorial Zone,  Yusuf Abubakar Yusuf, as winner of the  district’s senatorial election.
Yusuf  polled 98,860 votes to defeat Senator Dahiru  Bako of the PDP   who scored 93,074 votes.
The returning officer for the National Assembly election, Prof. Kolawaju Philip, announced the results in Bali in the late hours of Thursday.
With this declaration, the PDP has two senators and three House of Representatives members, while APC has one senator and two House of Representative members. APGA clinched one.
PDP secures  Plateau North senatorial seat,APC  Plateau Central
In Plateau State, after five days of waiting, INEC on Thursday night declared Istifanus Gyang of the PDP as the winner of the Plateau North senatorial election.
Prof. Christopher Vande ,the Returning Officer announced the result in Jos.
He said Gyang scored  269,555 votes to defeat his closest  rival, Mr Rufus Bature of the APC, who polled 171,233 votes
However, the results for the Bass, Jos North Federal Constituency was declared inconclusive.
The Jos North Collation Officer Job Alexander announced the results as follows: APC, 87,361 and, PDP, 53,416.
He said that the cancellation of votes from the Tudun Wada/Kabong ward necessitated the declaration of the poll as inconclusive adding that a new date would be announced in due course for a rerun in the affected ward before a winner would emerge
Meanwhile the commission has declared Mr Hezekiah Dimka of the APC winner for Plateau Central Senatorial election.
In the results emailed to our correspondent in Jos on Thursday, INEC Head of Voter Education in the state, Mr Osaretin Imahiyereobo, said that Dimka polled 149,457 votes to defeat the PDP candidate, Mr David Paradang, who scored 145,048.
According to  INEC official, the result for the Plateau South election has been declared inconclusive.
With the APC winning in 66  senatorial districts, it requires 8 senators to get two-thirds majority in the Senate.


Related Post