ASUU,SSANU, NAAT Attempt to Disrupt NAU Matriculation Foiled by Joint Security Operatives

The three striking unions of the Nigeria Universities in Nnamdi Azikiwe University Awka have alleged that the school authorities have assigned their responsibilities to Corps members to carry out their duties.
They lamented that the school authorities are insensitive to their plight by engaging ad-hoc staff to carry out their duties.

The unions urged the university management to refrain from engaging non staff to do their jobs until the ongoing strike is called off by their national body of the unions.
Mild drama ensued before the commencement of the 2017/2018 Matriculation exercise of the Nnamdi Azikiwe University Awka, as the members of the Non Academic Staff Union of universities (NASU), Senior staff Association of Nigeria Universities (SSANU) and National Academic Association of Technologists, (NAAT)  currently on strike attempted to disrupt the ceremony.
The unions met a brick wall as joint security operatives on ground denied the protesters to gain access to the university promises.
Speaking with newsmen after the exercise, the chapter chairman and coordinating chairperson of the three unions, Njideka Nwangwu who led the protest said they were disappointed that the school authority would embark of matriculation without the contribution of the three striking Non-Academic Staff unions.
Others at the protest ground regretted the action of the university and called on the federal government to intervene in the Non-Academic Staff Unions ongoing strike to men enable them resume their duty.
Reacting to the move embarked upon by the striking unions, , the Vice Chancellor of Nnamdi Azikiwe University, Professor Joseph Ahaneku said the school authority do identify with the striking workers, and called on the national body of the unions to liaise with the minister of labour and relevant authorities in the interest of the Nigeria Federal University system.
The three striking unions have been on strike for about three months and federal government is however been called upon to resolve the agitation between the earned allowance fund released for the Four Unions in the Universities, ASUU, NAAT, SSANU, NASU to share as their bargain to meet up with their 2009 agreement made to the Nigeria federal universities.



Related Post